Canterbury Orchestra

Future Concerts by The Canterbury Orchestra

Spring Concert 2016: The Creation

Saturday 14th May, Colyer-Fergusson Hall

Collaborative programme with Sittingbourne Orpheus and Bearsted Choral Societies in a performance of Haydn’s Creation


Summer Concert 2016: Showtime

Saturday 25th June, Barham Court.

Music from the golden age of broadway musicals, including: The Sound of Music, Guys and Dolls, Oklahoma, The King and I, and Porgy and Bess.  With plenty of audience participation in singalong numbers.


Winter Concert 2016

Saturday 26th November. Programme under discussion



If you are interested in a collaborative venture with the Orchestra, or in putting on a concert in support of a charity please contact Stephen Thomas (Chairman) on 01227 451974 or Anthea Cook (Secretary) on 01227 751196.

Next Concert

7:30pm Saturday 14th May, Colyer-Fergusson Hall, University of Kent

Tickets £15 full and £7.50 students and children available from the Gulbenkian Box Office 


This year's Spring Concert features a performance of Haydn’s brilliant oratorio, The Creation,  inspired by Handel’s revival of the genre.  The Creation, first performed in 1799,  draws its text from the Book of Genesis and Milton’s Paradise Lost . Parts 1 and 2 depict the six days of creation, whilst part 3 relates to Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden.  The music is colourful, dramatic and descriptive and has delighted audiences the world over for more than two hundred years.

The Concert is a co-operative venture with Sittingbourne Orpheus and Bearsted Choral Societies and features the following soloists 

Penelope Martin-Smith (soprano)

Greg Tassell (tenor)

Ben Bevan (bass)



Interested in playing with the Canterbury Orchestra?

Call Nicky Pound, Canterbury Orchestra Manager on 01304 812755 or email us to find out whether we have vacancies.