Previous Concerts by The Canterbury Orchestra - 2006

Saturday 17th December 2006 at 3:30pm
St. Mildred's Church, Canterbury

A Journey to Christmas
Overture - Lustspiel Keler Bela
Les Patineurs (Skater's Waltz) Emil Waldteufel
A Reading
In a Persian Market Albert Ketelbey
Oxford Street (from London Again Suite) Eric Coates
Mary Poppins Selection Richard Sherman & Robert Sherman
A Reading
A Dream of Christmas Albert Ketelbey
We Three Kings Of Orient Are
A Christmas Festival Leroy Anderson
O, Come All Ye Faithful
I'm Dreaming of a White Christmas Irving Berlin
We Wish You A Merry Christmas

Soloist: Sue Chivers (Soprano)
Readings: Ken Pickering

Saturday 25th November 2006 at 7:30pm
St. Peter's Methodist Church, Canterbury

The Music of Mozart

Celebrating the 250th anniversary of Mozart's birth.

Overture to Don Giovanni Mozart
Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor
Symphony No. 35 in D (The Haffner) Mozart

Soloist: David Rudduck (piano)
Conductor: John Myhill
Leader: Roberta Johnson

Saturday 10th June 2006 at 7:30pm
King's Hall Theatre, Herne Bay

Faces of Mozart

Celebrating the 250th anniversary of Mozart's birth

Overture II Seraglio Mozart
Mozartiana: from Suite 4 Tchaikovsky
Variations to Variations and Rondo ala Turca Mozart arr Myhill
Symphony No. 41 in C major (Jupiter) Mozart

Soloist: Nick Peck (piano)

Saturday 18th March 2006 at 7:30pm
St Mary the Virgin, Ashford, Kent

Concert in Ashford Parish Church

Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto
Schubert's Overture Rosamunde
Beethoven's Symphony No. 4 in B flat

Soloist: Floriane Peycelon

Next Concert

The Romantics

7:30pm Saturday 28th March, Colyer-Fergusson Hall, University of Kent

Tickets £12 full and £5 students and children available from the Gulbenkian Box Office 

 This year’s Spring Concert features three powerful and well-loved pieces from the Romantic period presented in the traditional format of overture, concerto and symphony; all of the pieces were composed over a 10 year period around 1870 and all have made a lasting mark on western music.  The programme begins with Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet which, though styled an ‘Overture-Fantasy’ by the composer, has many of the characteristics of a symphonic poem with different themes representing the lovers and the warring Montagues and Capulets.  This is followed by Grieg’s famous A minor Piano Concerto, which has an interesting link to our previous concert; Grieg was greatly influenced by hearing Schumann’s piano concerto, performed by Clara Schumann and the two works are often compared.  It is one Griegs most important early works and one of his most popular, making considerable use of Norwegian folk material.  Borodin’s B Minor Symphony also has elements of the prevailing ‘nationalism’ in art music of the period using Russian folk themes and representing important cultural events.  The symphony took several years to write given the composers day job as a Professor of Chemistry at St Petersburg , and the interpolation of the writing of Prince Igor and Mlada -- both of which are echoed in passages of the Symphony.



Interested in playing with the Canterbury Orchestra?

Call Nicky Pound, Canterbury Orchestra Manager on 01304 812755 or email us to find out whether we have vacancies.